P R O D U C T I O N S
 
 FAQ 
 Search 
 Memberlist 
 Usergroups 
 Register 
 Profile 
 Log in to check your private messages 
 Log in 

SWORDS OF STEEL Fantasy Anthology - Manilla Road, Bal-Sagoth
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nuclear War Now! Productions Forum Index -> Main
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DMR



Joined: 30 Aug 2011
Posts: 50
Location: North From Here

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2015 10:40 am    Post subject: SWORDS OF STEEL Fantasy Anthology - Manilla Road, Bal-Sagoth Reply with quote



On February 21st, 2015, DMR Books will release their first publication entitled Swords of Steel, an anthology of fantasy/horror adventure stories in the tradition of Robert E. Howard, Michael Moorcock, George R.R. Martin, and H.P. Lovecraft.

The book will be “mass market” size (6.5” x 4.25”), 250 pages, in the tradition of the classic paperbacks from the ‘60s and ‘70s. The stories in this collection are written by members of such underground heavy metal bands as Manilla Road, Bal-Sagoth, Solstice, Cauldron Born, Twisted Tower Dire, and others.

“I got the idea while listening to Manowar's "Dark Avenger." I thought the lyrics would make a great story that could have been in an anthology from the '70s like Swords Against Darkness. Then I wondered if any bands had ever written stories, and the idea took off from there.” - Dave Ritzlin (DMR Books editor and publisher)

"Dave agreed to let me do a Lovecraft-style story instead of heroic fantasy as that's where my heart is right now with writing. I agonized over this story, poured my heart into it, and went temporarily insane during its creation. Many aspects of it were derived from my life. I'm interested to see how the other lyricists approached this project and how it's received in-general by the public." – Scott Waldrop (TTD)

Swords of Steel also includes interior illustrations and maps, poems by Sean Weingartner (Eternal Champion) and Howie Bentley (Cauldron Born), a non-fiction essay by historical novelist M Harold Page, and an introduction by David C. Smith, author of such sword and sorcery novels as Oron, The Sorcerer’s Shadow, and the Red Sonja series. Cover art is provided by Martin Hanford who has illustrated Warhammer novels for Games Workshop as well as covers for a number of bands including Twisted Tower Dire, Bal-Sagoth, and Slough Feg.

“I'm so honored to be a part of this book. I approached Dave about adding some poetry and he graciously accepted. This is my first writing in 20 years.” - Sean Weingartner (Eternal Champion)

Swords of Steel is planned to be followed annually by more anthologies of fictional stories from bands of the music genre.

“Who better to return traditional fantasy to its former glory than the heavy metal bards?” - Dave Ritzlin

www.facebook.com/DMRBooks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TCM



Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 427
Location: Gateway Hive

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2015 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

extreme, utmost support
_________________
http://terracaputmundi.bandcamp.com
http://phantasmalmetal.bandcamp.com
http://www.discogs.com/seller/JMB_FOAD/profile

The Farthest Star wrote:
What the fuck is an "IPA".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
LazerBeast



Joined: 06 Apr 2011
Posts: 391
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2015 11:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is awesome, would definitely grab a copy of this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TCM



Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 427
Location: Gateway Hive

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2015 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

is the story by byron related in any way to the bal sagoth universe or is it a standalone
_________________
http://terracaputmundi.bandcamp.com
http://phantasmalmetal.bandcamp.com
http://www.discogs.com/seller/JMB_FOAD/profile

The Farthest Star wrote:
What the fuck is an "IPA".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
In Solitude



Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 4423
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As somewhat of a connoisseur of the masters of weird/supernatural horror, I hope the writing is actually good! Cool idea.
_________________
The Prophet Muhammad wrote:
You should just listen to Bathory
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spectre



Joined: 24 Sep 2008
Posts: 1300

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Awesome. Will try to pick this up.
_________________
http://forcesofsteel.com/forums/index.php
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
DMR



Joined: 30 Aug 2011
Posts: 50
Location: North From Here

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2015 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TCM wrote:
is the story by byron related in any way to the bal sagoth universe or is it a standalone


His story is about Captain Caleb Blackthorne, the subject of the Bal-Sagoth song "When Rides the Scion of the Storms" from "Battle Magic."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
la_ciudad_podrida



Joined: 08 Jan 2013
Posts: 1174
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2015 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

this looks so awesome.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blewcheer



Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 4892

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2015 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This sounds really cool. I'll definitely grab a copy.

Random aside, why doesn't Mark Shelton just use his own name for stuff? The "EC Hellwell" thing is sort of ridiculous. First it was a mysterious sometimes-member of Manilla Road (and "Hellwell"), now a writer. Although I guess at least it makes sense as a pen name...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TCM



Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 427
Location: Gateway Hive

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2015 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DMR wrote:
TCM wrote:
is the story by byron related in any way to the bal sagoth universe or is it a standalone


His story is about Captain Caleb Blackthorne, the subject of the Bal-Sagoth song "When Rides the Scion of the Storms" from "Battle Magic."


Cool
_________________
http://terracaputmundi.bandcamp.com
http://phantasmalmetal.bandcamp.com
http://www.discogs.com/seller/JMB_FOAD/profile

The Farthest Star wrote:
What the fuck is an "IPA".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DMR



Joined: 30 Aug 2011
Posts: 50
Location: North From Here

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2015 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In Solitude wrote:
As somewhat of a connoisseur of the masters of weird/supernatural horror, I hope the writing is actually good! Cool idea.


I don't think you'll be disappointed! You can check out excerpts from the stories on the Facebook page.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DMR



Joined: 30 Aug 2011
Posts: 50
Location: North From Here

PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2015 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Available now!

http://dmrbooks.storenvy.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LazerBeast



Joined: 06 Apr 2011
Posts: 391
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2015 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Awesome, will pick it up with my next paycheck!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DMR



Joined: 30 Aug 2011
Posts: 50
Location: North From Here

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's an in-depth review of the book:

http://www.blackgate.com/2015/03/31/metal-on-metal-swords-of-steel-edited-by-d-m-ritzlin/

Also, copies are available in the NWN store.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wolf Larsen



Joined: 14 Mar 2011
Posts: 32
Location: Hellas

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A truly great piece of Dark Heroic fantasy. Dave, keep up the good work!
Copies available in Europe through Frost & Fire : www.frost-and-fire.com
_________________
"To every man upon this earth
Death cometh soon or late.
And how can man die better
Than facing fearful odds,
For the ashes of his fathers,
And the temples of his Gods."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nuclear War Now! Productions Forum Index -> Main All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group